Sports & Games

Pakistan Women Seal Historic T20 Series Win in New Zealand Despite Rain-Hit Loss

Pakistan women’s cricket team made history by becoming the first Asian side to win a T20 series in New Zealand, despite losing the third and final match by six runs via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method at John Davies Oval in Queenstown on Saturday.

The Green Shirts had already clinched the series by winning the first two matches by seven wickets and 10 runs, respectively, but could not complete a clean sweep as the hosts salvaged some pride in a rain-affected game.

Pakistan, who were put into bat by New Zealand captain Sophie Devine, got off to a solid start with openers Sidra Ameen and Muneeba Ali adding 64 runs in 10 overs. Sidra Ameen was the top scorer with 43 off 38 balls, while skipper Nida Dar chipped in with 25 off 20 balls.

However, Pakistan lost momentum in the middle overs as they were restricted to 137 for five in 20 overs. New Zealand’s spinners Amelia Kerr and Eden Carson bowled economically and picked up three and two wickets respectively.

In reply, New Zealand opener Bernadine Bezuidenhout fell for 4 off 11 balls, but Bates carried on and remained unbeaten on 51 off 42 balls. Amelia Kerr also played a good knock of 35 off 31 balls as the hosts reached 101 for two in 15 overs.

The match was then interrupted by rain and no further play was possible. According to the DLS method, New Zealand were six runs ahead of the par score and were declared the winners.

Pakistan’s left-arm spinners Sadia Iqbal and Nashra Sandhu were the only wicket-takers for Green Shirts.

Dar, who was playing her 141st T20 match, became the first player to feature in most T20 matches for Pakistan5. She surpassed Bismah Maroof, who had played 140 T20 Internationals.

Suzie Bates was named the player of the match for her brilliant knock, while Fatima Sana, who had taken six wickets in the series, was awarded the player of the series.

The two teams will now face each other in a three-match ODI series, which is part of the ICC Women’s Championship. The first ODI will be played on December 12 in Queenstown, followed by the second and third ODIs on December 15 and 18 in Christchurch.

Back to top button