Sports & Games

Pakistan Women Make History by Clinching T20I Series Against New Zealand

Pakistan women’s cricket team achieved a remarkable feat on Tuesday by defeating New Zealand women in the second T20I at Dunedin and securing their first-ever series win against the hosts.

The Girls in Green, who had never won a T20I against the White Ferns before this tour, outplayed their opponents by 10 runs to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Pakistan women, who had won the first match by seven wickets at the same venue, posted a competitive total of 137/6 in their 20 overs after being put into bat by New Zealand captain Sophie Devine.

Opener Muneeba Ali gave Pakistan a solid start with a 35-run knock, while Aalia Riaz provided the late flourish with a 22-ball 32 that included one six and three fours.

New Zealand women, who had a record of 8-0 against Pakistan women in T20Is before this series, struggled to chase down the target as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Pakistan women’s bowlers displayed a disciplined performance, with Fatima Sana being the pick of the lot with three wickets for 22 runs in her four overs.

Sadia Iqbal also chipped in with two wickets, while Nida Dar one wicket.

New Zealand women were reduced to 89/6 in the 15th over, before Georgia Pimmer and Hamma Rowe tried to revive their hopes with a 36-run partnership.

However, they fell short of the required run rate as they could only manage 127/7 in their 20 overs.

Aalia Riaz was named the player of the match for her all-round contribution, while Hannah Rowe was the top scorer for New Zealand with 33 runs.

Pakistan women’s captain and allrounder Nida Dar praised her team for their historic achievement and said they were confident of winning the series after the first match.

New Zealand women’s captain Sophie Devine congratulated Pakistan women for their deserved win and said they were outplayed in all departments.

She also expressed her disappointment with her team’s performance and said they needed to improve their batting, bowling and fielding in the final match.

The third and final T20I of the series will be played on Saturday at Queenstown, followed by three ODIs at the same venue and Christchurch.

Back to top button