Sports & Games

Pakistan to Host Tri-Series Cricket Tournament in 2025

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has officially announced that it will host a tri-series involving New Zealand and South Africa in February 2025. This exciting cricket event will serve as a precursor to the ICC Champions Trophy, which is also set to be hosted by Pakistan later in the same year.

The tri-series announcement was made following a meeting between Mohsin Naqvi, the newly appointed Chairman of the PCB, Lawson Naidoo, Chairman of Cricket South Africa (CSA), and Roger Twose, Chairman of New Zealand Cricket (NZC). The main agenda of the meeting, which took place ahead of the ICC meeting in Dubai8, was the organization of the tri-series.

This tri-series marks a significant milestone for Pakistan as it will be the first time since 2004 that the country will host such an event. The last tri-series hosted by Pakistan involved Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Naqvi expressed his enthusiasm about the upcoming event, stating, "The tri-series between Pakistan, South Africa, and New Zealand will be an exciting event and it is after a long time that Pakistan will host such a tournament". He also extended his gratitude to the heads of NZC and CSA for their participation in the event, which will serve as a crucial preparation phase for Pakistan ahead of the Champions Trophy.

The ICC Champions Trophy, which is set to return after an eight-year hiatus since its last occurrence in 2017, will be hosted by Pakistan. The tournament will follow the One Day International (ODI) format and will feature a total of eight teams. The qualification process for the tournament involved the top seven teams from the ICC ODI World Cup group stage, along with the host nation, Pakistan.

The teams that have qualified for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy are Pakistan (hosts), India, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, England, and Bangladesh.

Back to top button