Sports & Games

Pakistan Ready for T20 World Cup 2024 Challenge with Finalised Squad

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has finalised the 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. The team, led by skipper Babar Azam, is a balanced mix of fast bowlers, all-rounders, wicket-keepers, and batsmen.

The squad includes five fast bowlers, one of whom is Haris Rauf, who has made a comeback after recovering from an injury. The all-rounder department is strong with four players, providing the team with both batting and bowling options.

The talented Babar Azam will captain the team, bringing his exceptional batting skills and leadership qualities to the forefront. His experience and strategic acumen will be crucial for Pakistan’s performance in the tournament.

The squad features a mix of seasoned players and young talent, including Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, and Usman Khan. The inclusion of Azam Khan and Imad Wasim adds depth to the batting and bowling departments, respectively.

The team also includes three wicket-keepers, providing ample backup for this critical position. The squad is rounded off with two specialist batsmen and a spinner.

In addition to the 15-member squad, the PCB has also named three reserve players: Salman Ali Agha, Hasan Ali, and Irfan Khan. These players will travel with the team and can be called upon if needed.

The official announcement of the squad will be made after the first match of the T20I series against England on May 22. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has set May 25 as the deadline for announcing a 15-member World Cup squad.

Pakistan is in Group A of the World Cup, alongside arch-rivals India, Ireland, Canada, and the USA. The national side will play their first World Cup match on June 6 against the USA in Dallas. The most anticipated clash between Pakistan and India will take place on June 9 in New York.

The T20 World Cup 2024 is set to be an exciting event, with teams from around the world competing for the prestigious title. With the squad now finalised, the Green Shirts are all set to take on the challenge and aim for glory.

Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Khan, Azam Khan, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Saim Ayub, Iftikhar Ahmed, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Abbas Afridi and Haris Rauf

Travelling Reserves

Salman Ali Agha, Hasan Ali and Irfan Khan

Back to top button