PakistanSports & Games

Pakistan Cricket Team Secure Visa for ICC World Cup 2023

Cricket fans can now breathe a sigh of relief as the Pakistan Cricket Team has been granted a visa for the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 in India. This development comes after days of uncertainty and concerns raised by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) over the delay in visa issuance.

The PCB had previously approached the International Cricket Council (ICC) regarding visa delays. PCB spokesperson Umar Farooq expressed disappointment over the situation, revealing that they had been reminding the ICC of their obligations for the past three years. “We have written to ICC raising our concerns about inequitable treatment towards Pakistan and reminding them of these obligations towards the World Cup,” said Farooq.

The visa application was reportedly submitted over a week ago, but less than 48 hours before their scheduled departure to India, the team had not received their visas. Consequently, Pakistan had to cancel its pre-World Cup team bonding event in Dubai, creating additional logistical challenges for the squad.

The team was originally scheduled to depart for Dubai on September 25 and engage in team-building exercises before flying to Hyderabad, India, for warm-up matches against New Zealand on September 29 and Australia on October 3. Pakistan’s first World Cup match is set to take place on October 6 against the Netherlands.

Fans and journalists intending to cover the event also faced visa-related difficulties, as the online application portal remained inaccessible. This forced many to seek the assistance of agents and incur additional expenses to facilitate the visa application process.

However, the situation appears to have taken a positive turn, as Pakistan have now received the visa. The news relieves cricket enthusiasts, who can now eagerly anticipate the start of the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023, which promises to be a thrilling and highly competitive tournament featuring some of the world’s best cricketing talent.

On Friday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced that the men’s squad will participate in this year’s ICC World Cup. The team includes Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.


Back to top button