PakistanSports & Games

ICC Announces USD 10 Million Prize Pool for World Cup 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced a total prize pool of USD 10 million for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, which will be held in India. The team that emerges victorious in the tournament will be awarded USD 4 million from the total prize pool.

The team that finishes as runners-up in the final match, scheduled to be played on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will receive USD 2 million.

The tournament will follow a round-robin format in the Group Stage, where all 10 teams will play each other once. The top four teams in the points table will advance to the semi-finals. Teams that do not make it to the knockout stage will each receive USD 100,000.

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will kick off with a match between defending champions England and New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India, on October 5.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced its 15-member squad for the tournament. The team will be led by Babar Azam, with Shadab Khan as vice-captain. Hasan Ali has been brought into the squad to replace the injured pacer Naseem Shah.

Pakistan’s schedule for the tournament is as follows:

  • October 6: vs Netherlands in Hyderabad
  • October 10: vs Sri Lanka in Hyderabad
  • October 14: vs India in Ahmedabad
  • October 20: vs Australia in Bengaluru
  • October 23: vs Afghanistan in Chennai
  • October 27: vs. South Africa in Chennai
  • October 31: vs Bangladesh in Kolkata
  • November 4: vs New Zealand in Bengaluru (Day match)
  • November 11: vs England in Kolkata


Back to top button