PakistanSports & Games

Head and Shoulders Above the Rest: Australia Crushes India in Cricket World Cup Final 2023

Australia defeated India by six wickets in the final of the ICC World Cup 2023 at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, on Sunday, clinching their sixth title in the history of the tournament.

Chasing a modest target of 241, Australia lost three early wickets as Indian pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami struck in quick succession. However, Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne steadied the innings with a brilliant 192-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Head was the star of the show as he smashed 137 runs off 120 balls, hitting 15 fours and four sixes. He reached his century in style by hitting a six over long-on off Ravindra Jadeja. Labuschagne played a supporting role with a patient 58 not out off 110 balls.

Australia reached the target with 42 balls to spare, as Glen Maxwell scored the winning runs in the 43rd over. Head was declared the man of the match for his brilliant century. Virat Kohli was awarded man of the tournament for his outstanding performance including 3 centuries.

Earlier, India were put into bat by Australian captain Pat Cummins after winning the toss. India got off to a shaky start as Mitchell Starc dismissed Shubman Gill for four in the fifth over. Rohit Sharma looked in good touch as he scored 47 off 38 balls, but he fell to Glenn Maxwell in the 10th over, caught brilliantly by Head at point.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul then added 67 runs for the third wicket, but both fell in quick succession to Pat Cummins and Mitchel Starc. Starc was the pick of the Australian bowlers with three wickets for 55 runs. Kohli made 54 off 63 balls, while Rahul top-scored for India with 66 off 107 balls.

India’s middle and lower order failed to provide any impetus to the innings, as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami all fell for single-digit scores, as India were bowled out for 240 in 50 overs.

Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins took two wickets each, while Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell chipped in with one wicket each.

India, who were the favourites to win the title on their home soil, suffered their first and only defeat of the tournament in the final. Australia, on the other hand, continued their dominance in the World Cup, winning their sixth trophy in 12 editions.

Back to top button